Public Works


The Columbus Public Works Department consists of 11 dedicated employees whose only mission is to provide safe and effective service to the citizens of Columbus at the most efficient cost.

The Streets/Parks Division is responsible for all infrastructure maintenance, park maintenance, and improvements and has 6 employees assigned to its ranks but is often augmented by temporary seasonal staff and other staff as the need arises.

The Wastewater Division is responsible for all sanitary sewer mains, lift stations, and the Wastewater Treatment Facility. There are 3 full-time employees assigned to its ranks.

Hillside Cemetery is owned by the City of Columbus and is operated by the Hillside Cemetery Board of Directors with maintenance and repair responsibilities being delegated to Public Works Department employees.

Note: As per changes in City policy, Columbus Public Works Department will no longer be providing salt, sand, gravel, or black top for resident’s personal use.

NOTICE:  The last week for brush pick up is October 4, 2021

Please see below for BRUSH PICKUP information:

Leaf Pickup Map

Leaf Pickup Information


Helpful Documents and Community Information